Association News On-Line

Past president Sunny Andrews receives Terris Award

Dr. Sunny Andrews, president of AASSWB from 1993 to 1995, has been named the recipient of the 1998 Professional Examination Services (PES) Lillian D. Terris Award for Distinguished Board Service. The award, named in honor of the first president of PES, recognizes an individual whose service contributions have enhanced the public and professional understanding of the missions of credentialing organizations and the meaning associated with professional credentials.

According to the announcement from PES, Andrews received the award "in recognition of the exceptional leadership and dedication he has brought to promoting the value of social work licensure on behalf of AASSWB." The news release adds that he has contributed more than 10 years of professional service to social work regulation and has played key leadership roles in both AASSWB and the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE).

He became president of the AASSWB in 1993, at a time when the cohesiveness of the organization was under threat, and was successful in restoring unity.

Nominations for the 1998 award were judged by Barbara Bloom Kremi, M.S.I.R., an independent consultant with expertise in credentialing issues; Clarence Pearson, M.P.H., past member of the PES Board of Directors; and Randolph P. Reaves, J.D., executive director of the Federation of State Associations of Regulatory Boards, and executive officer and general counsel of the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards.

What’s New / About AASSWB / Consumer Information / Social Work Licensing & Certification / Directory of Social Work Boards / Licensing Examinations / Services / Committees & Task Forces / Products & Publications / Association News On-Line / Meetings & Conferences / Social Work Links / Home